Taman Burung

Lately I have been getting a lot of complaints about my failure to update my blog and let everyone know what’s been going on in my life. I do have a reason for this.

Before the end of the year, my computer charger broke and stopped working. As a consequence, I couldn’t get on my computer or access photos. On January 18, I went to Jakarta with my host aunt (hi Mama Kelly!) and purchased a new charger. Ironically on the same day, the WiFi at my house stopped working. It started working again January 26. Since then, I have been scrambling to get back up to date with everything on the web.

Thank you for your patience and support.

(this is part 1/2)

December 3, 2015

In Jakarta, there is a place/park called Taman Mini. It is filled with representations of Indonesia. They have architecture from every region of Indonesia. It’s cool to compare the various cultures in this incredibly diverse country.

The school holiday had begun, so I went to Taman Mini with my Bunda and Sabrina.

Taman Mini also has a bird park in it. Anyone who knows me knows that I adore birds. Since my Bunda obviously knows me, we went to said bird park.

IMG_8585.JPG

I had a heyday taking pictures and experimenting with my camera, as well as obviously seeing all the birds.

IMG_8604.JPG

More squiggles

IMG_8787.JPG

Turkeys are rare enough here that they can be in a bird park.

(Taman Burung @ Taman Mini) *S*

Nice 'do. (Taman Burung @ Taman Mini) *S*

IMG_8828.JPG

IMG_8688.JPG

IMG_8672.JPG

IMG_8751.JPG

IMG_8689.JPG

IMG_8807.JPG

IMG_8547.JPG

The best part of the park, however, was the hold-a-parrot station. There were four trained parrots that you could hold and take pictures with for 5,000 rp (36¢). I have really missed holding parrots (I have a cockatiel in America).

IMG_8531 1.JPG

After my turn holding the parrots/taking pictures was over, the Chattering Lory you could hold freaked out and flew to the floor.

IMG_8730.JPG

The owner was busy helping someone else with the other birds. All the bystanders just stared at him. Since I seemed to be the only one not scared of him, I picked him up and he ran up my arm and on top of my head.

This is the only picture I have of it:

IMG_8538 1.JPG

It was really cute. He was only up there for probably 15 seconds and then I took him off and put him on his perch.

Anyway, I really enjoyed Taman Burung!

IMG_8841.JPG

4 thoughts on “Taman Burung

  1. Isabella James says:

    I just got your letter today. Thank you so much! I sent you a package in the mail last week. Hope it gets there. If not, tell me. I don’t know your email address, and it would be great if you could tell me. Mine is bomberdoxie@me.com. It has been great to hear from you

    Like

  2. Mike Reed says:

    I love seeing your post. And the pictures thanks for sending them to me. I hope you’re feeling better, and you that you get over your virus. I think its funny that you found more parrots or cockatiels. I bet those are heavier than yours.

    Mom send out a package today. I wonder how long it will take to get there? I think she is sending antibiotics too. I bet you can buy them over the counter there.

    Did I tell you that I bought a new computer. I think it was the best thing we could have done for Sam. Now we don’t have to compete for the other one.

    Sean has been substitute teaching in school. He has taught at Washington Elementary as a the librarian has had kindergarten 2nd 3rd and 4th grades. He also went to teach a remedial reading class he said the law students were Polly’s and Latinos. After he finished he went to country Oaks to do more contract and paperwork for affordable housing. Louanne thought he was great however, apartment 17 thinks the refrigerator is too.

    I’m having another one delivery for the office apartment, & I just think I’ll have it delivered there. It’s a little bit smaller, but it’s new. We’ll see if I like it.

    Mom wants to remodel the downstairs bathroom, by your room. I can imagine is going to cost but she said I promise her.. so I guess I’ll let it happen.

    Work is still hard, but it seems like there’s always light at the end of the tunnel.

    We have lots of snow here. Did mom send you a picture. I just might add one anyway. Well it’s getting late love you dad On Jan 28, 2016 4:03 AM, “The Truth By Ruth” wrote:

    > rufio3 posted: “Lately I have been getting a lot of complaints about my > failure to update my blog and let everyone know what’s been going on in my > life. I do have a reason for this. Before the end of the year, my computer > charger broke and stopped working. As a conseque” >

    Like

Leave a Reply

